sprouting.

I am always so critical of myself, and for the most part I know that I shouldn’t be. I am good at what I do, right? I should have more confidence in it. I’ve been working really hard on that and have been succeeding, especially since I took this TSCPL internship and am proving myself in a real position of a fast-paced environment. It’s done so much for my small insecurities as well as turning some of the large insecurities into small ones. (It’s just my luck that I would get this internship when the great book debacle is happening, eh? But that makes the PR jobs even more exciting!)

One aspect that has greatly improved is my photography. The above picture was featured on today’s “The Daily Click” on the Shutter Sisters website, which I credit for giving me many instances of inspiration over the past year and teaching me more about photography than I ever imagined a website could. I have always been shy about taking my camera out in public and snapping too many pictures, but slowly I am coming out of that shell. People (usually) are flattered when you want to photograph them, as long as they know about it. Being sneaky is what freaks them out, I have found.

This experience has made me feel that I have matured more in the past month than I have over my entire college career. There is something that makes being dressed up and wearing an official TSCPL badge that feels very important and sophisticated.

And I like that.

(Sorry for all the talk of my internship/job, but it’s still the excitement in my life right now.)

One Comment to “sprouting.”

  1. The macro on your cam is supreme!

    I read the article about the “debacle,” and wow did I get a flashback from old movies of Nazis burning books. You’re learning the real deal there, constitution rights and all; good luck with this…

Leave a Reply

