this is us.

Friendship isn’t being inseparable. It’s being separated and knowing that nothing will change.


Maria and I, birthday party 2009

For all the years that Maria lived away from Topeka, I was missing something. And that something, I have come to realize, is someone that I can tell absolutely everything to without having any fear of judgment. It’s good to talk about stuff with her instead of always figuring it out on my own. I missed having that kind of best friend, someone who understands all the small crises in my life because she is right there, experiencing them with me. Someone who asks me for advice because I know all her crises too. Someone that is close enough to party and make a fool of myself with and then laugh about it the next day. Someone who isn’t afraid to call me out on stuff.

I don’t know what I’d do without that girl.

Leave a Reply

