future.

even when I can’t believe
a goddamn word you say,
I’ll still look at you and hope
hard that I’m wrong.

even when I feel you pull away,
I’ll tell myself it’s something else.

even when your smile
is only trying to smooth things over,
I’ll still look for some genuineness.

even when I want to leave,
I’ll always stay.

even when we say we don’t
love each other,
I always will.

One Comment to “future.”

  1. I loved the bittersweet observations combined with the hopefulness in your words … you capture the essence of true desire despite the evidence to the contrary, that almost unconditional overlooking that caring allows.

Leave a Reply

