top five tuesday.

This week: Top five book to read or reread

The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold. I haven’t seen the movie yet, but I am sure it can’t hold up to the book version. I like my imagination better than someone else’s.

The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint Exupery. Such a good “lesson” book. It is originally a children’s book, but it really opened my eyes to some things after my injury. Love.

The Witches by Roald Dahl. Imagination at its best. Roald Dahl was my favorite author as a child. I mean, who hasn’t read/seen James and the Giant Peach or Charlie and the Chocolate Factory??

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. We read this book in middle school, and our teacher was a strong, hard-headed, and hilariously funny black man. I think we would have had a different experience with a different teacher, and I appreciate the way that he made us look at the things that were “hard” in that book. Race and discrimination are tricky to teach to 12-year-olds, but we got it because he wasn’t afraid to tell it like it was. I love him for that.

Crank by Ellen Hopkins. I think I liked the way this book was written more than the actual storyline. A novel written in the form of poetry. Great.

Leave a Reply

