small confessions.


Before you write another sweet note,
let me say–

I want nothing from anyone’s heart
until I can feel safe about giving
a piece of mine.

I’m good at being guarded, like I am hiding
something else that exists where my heart should be.
I’m good at avoiding the things that need to be said, and heard
I’m good at turning away when I see things getting real

and it’s just that when things get hard
I’m the one good at walking away
and pretending to be the one who didn’t
care at all.

I never meant to be this
scared of being vulnerable.
At times, I feel like I’m the only one.

The problem with loving
someone is that you soften
& I’m afraid deep
in my soul that I am far
too scarred for that.

Just don’t break my heart
the way the other one did
and I’ll try not to ignore yours.
Let’s try something different.

One Comment to “small confessions.”

Leave a Reply

