if I should ever.


I make it a habit to take time for myself, time to wrap my head around things that are going on in my life in some quiet place. Most of the time I spend quiet time on a little road trip. Sometimes I go to Kansas City or Manhattan, and sometimes I leave the house, cameras and journal in hand, and I don’t really have a clue where I am headed. Driving is like ironing to me. You don’t really need to think about what you’re doing. It’s just the motions that soothe you.

Lately there has been tension running its way through our family, the kind that clearly cuts us down the middle, dividing us between right and wrong, anger and obligation. It’s not a good feeling to know that no matter what you say, sometimes it will not be heard and taken to heart. So yes, because of frustration, a road trip was needed.

The picture was taken in Silver Lake, after a long drive down a country (bumpy!) road. I thought I had gotten lost for about 45 minutes. Normally, I would have panicked, but I just kept driving. I didn’t really care if I was lost in the middle of the country. It was almost nice.

Leave a Reply

