creativity stunted.

I read a post recently in the Google Reader about creativity, and the lack of “real” friends that this person shared such interests with. I honestly don’t remember who wrote it (wish I did!), but I remember saying “Oh man, that’s exactly how I feel!”

I sometimes feel so alone in creativity in real life. Sure, I have friends who are photographers and painters and artists and poets. They’re super talented people, but it never really comes up in conversation that often. I think half of the problem is just that: the conversation isn’t right. Or the setting. It’s hard to have a really intelligent conversation about projects at a bar with blithering drunks around. I need to change settings with these people. (Not that the only place we go is to bars, but you get the idea.)

So that’s a goal to add to my list. More creativity with REAL people. Don’t get me wrong. Some of the most creative, inspiring people have made their way into my life (and heart) through the internet. I wouldn’t trade them for the world, but I need some real words, real conversations, real hands-on show-me-what-you’re-working-on type of things too. I’m going to make it a point to get it out there, into whatever we’re talking about.

I’m gonna be pushy for once! Watch out!

Leave a Reply

