A little EVO review.

**Now, let me be clear–I’ve never written a review before, so this won’t be perfect. It’s just a look at the EVO from my pov.

I’ve had my EVO for a little over 2 weeks now, and I have to say I am so glad that I decided to splurge on it.

The screen size is amazing. It’s usually the first thing that people notice when I show it to them (especially my sister and her boyfriend who are dedicated iPhone users). It’s big, colorful, and high-quality.

The camera is better than the camera on my Blackberry was. Higher quality and more features. There are apps that you can download that make it even more versatile too. My favorite camera app is FxCamera, which seems less complicated than the Vignette app after they updated it.

As a quadriplegic, the touchscreen is much easier for just about everything. Typing, navigating, scrolling. It’s just easier for my fingers when there is as little effort and pressure needed.

Although the battery life is only about half of what my Blackberry was, it’s not as much of a deal breaker for me as it apparently has been for some others. I downloaded the Advanced Task Killer, which shuts down the apps that I am not using at the moment, and it saves the battery life. I have a charger for the car, and I don’t spend an insane amount of time on my phone either. I guess the battery life just depends what you’re using the EVO for.

Favorite applications:
Advanced Task Killer
Facebook (of course)
Peep (HTC’s Twitter app)
Evernote (for taking notes/thoughts/snippets of poems)
FxCamera
Jewels (this game is so addictive)
Qik (video streaming app)
Wordpress (Blog posting made easy from a handheld!)

I know the hype about iPhone and how everyone says it is the best. Well, I don’t have one, only an iPod Touch, which as far as I know is the same thing with the phone, and I don’t think I would trade my EVO for one. That’s saying a lot considering I am a total Apple lover otherwise. My EVO just feels sturdier. Love it!

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

