in my way.


Impossibility is such a heavy word
leaving bitterness and pain
on my tongue like coarse salt
of my favorite food.

So many things are
beyond my reach
beyond my power.
These things
I think of most.

It does me no good
to want or imagine–
still I taste them
occupying minutes of my day
distracting, aggravating
sometimes breeding false
hope all around.

Somehow my impossibilities are
what keeps me going,

waiting
for hope to pay off.

2 Comments to “in my way.”

  1. Beautiful colours and light!

  2. well done,
    true sentiments…

Leave a Reply

