just a minute, now.

I found some time. Down time for myself before bed and decided to start a quick book I had downloaded on my Kindle.

Mistake. I was awake until almost 2 in the morning reading. It wasn’t a particularly good book, nothing I couldn’t have waited for, but I laid there and read until I heard the clock only ring twice on the hour. I could easily have kept going, but I knew it would be a long day running on only 4 hours of sleep. Barely enough to function.

I realized I do this a lot when I am stressed out about something, anything really. I read. And read some more. I suppose it gets me away from my own thoughts and complaints for a while and lets me get a few hours of relief. I love that feeling of not worrying about anything else.

So yes, it was a tired day. By lunch I was starving (I don’t eat much when I’m stressed either) and exhausted, but I managed to get a lot of work done too. I have weird energy on days of little sleep sometimes. I was physically tired but mentally ready.to.go. I don’t know how that works.

Now I’ve started Shanghai Girls by Lisa See, one of the books on my list and am looking forward to it. I always imagine the most beautiful people in her books. Love that. And did you know Snow Flower and the Secret Fan is being adapted to the big screen?! Yes!

One Comment to “just a minute, now.”

  1. Reblogged this on inspiredweightloss.

Leave a Reply

