dream.

I wanted to break into a run,
cut through the air between us
and be standing so close to you
that your breath warmed my chilled skin.

You had been gone for 11 days
and even for a girl like me,
11 days is too long.

You smelled the same,
strong and musky,
and the tattoos hadn’t faded one shade,
still silvery and beautiful.

Your heart, too,
had filled up again
when my green eyes met your blue.

I was afraid that if I wrapped
my arms around you,
felt your waist against mine,
I couldn’t let go again.

And it was so real
until I woke up alone.

Leave a Reply

