looking.


I have shot mainly “couple” shoots lately, and thought it is always fun to shoot portraits, my camera has been lonely otherwise.

Besides being busy, I was a little out of inspiration in the visual field, dried up like the leaves, dusty and ready for a new season. Everything seemed so blah and not really worthy of the space it would take up on my disk.

Then, I came across Shutter Sisters again, a blog of women who circulate posts with beautiful photography and soft, often encouraging, words. There are so many different subjects, different perspectives, and different places in each of their lives. It was like a breath of fresh air, like looking at the pictures that have collected on their blog over the past year gave me the reminder that I need to look at things more patiently. I’m in too much of a hurry, with too many things going on. I need to slow down. I need take the time to appreciate the things around me, see their worth instead of passing over them so quickly, trying to check whatever the next thing is on the list.

With a new fresh outlook on photography, SS also lit up a little inspiration for writing. I’ve written more in my journal over the past week than I have in the past few months, and that is always a good feeling.

I feel recharged, and with the holidays coming, I might need it.

Leave a Reply

